Broken

Bhavana Chandran

tumblr_mscjovo13q1sp76hoo1_500

Your eyes are defiant,
but not as strong as your will.
They leak crusted salt
till I’ve had my fill.

I was never able to break you
but I think I was close.
Your life was not your fortune,
this I made sure of.

How frail are your wrists
they look like blue tinted straws.
I know I’ll miss
the way they felt hot.

When I went to your funeral
I felt everyone’s eyes on me.
I leaked vague salt
they thought I had no feelings.

But I feel afraid
just like you did.
And I wake up breathing hard
unlike you, who never slept.

I had your fear
but never your respect.
There were so many signs
that I never bothered to reflect.

I had your screams
but never your love.
I use to look down at you
but now it’s me you’re above.

Apologies won’t fix it.
And I know it wouldn’t matter.
I can’t sleep now.
You’ll come for me, sooner or later.

                                                                             ~*~

Leave a comment