Just a mere proposition on unity for my fellow Eyes.

Abison Yumnam

The problem arises, I think, when you love your clan/community/tribe more than what is necessary and claim it is the best of all. I don’t have any problem when you love your own community, but when you claim yours is the best, you seem to disrespect others to an extent which, I think, will be the source of the problem in this particular discourse. I’m not saying whatever I’m going to say is right, but it seems less wrong as far as my tiny subjective brain can think of, after going through the limited information I could gather. And your positive/negative comments or any sort of suggestion will be warmly welcome.
The chances of creating animosity among one another are quite high when you say yours is the best, taking into consideration the innumerable clans/communities/tribes we have in our small piece of land consisted of eight tiny states; and it acts as one of the important reasons for the lovely amount of hatred some of us have for others differentiating ourselves with multiple non-essential tags. Some often declare public very bravely that they belong to a particular tribe and they are proud of it, even I’m proud of them and their tribes, but I don’t think saying that will help us bring unity among the different tribes, which is, I think, very necessary right now for our peaceful coexistence; it distances one from another farther instead. That’s why I’m not sad when I’m called ‘Chinky’ thinking that the ‘Eyes’ are at least seen as one by some people; and all the different inessential tags are replaced by the lovely word ‘Chinky’. Instead of getting offended, I sometimes have a strange feeling of the fact that we are indeed seen as one by some, which is actually far from reality as of now.
What I really want to talk about is the necessity of unity among us for the peaceful coexistence right now. By unity, I would like to mean the love and respect for one another; I’m not saying all the different cultures and traditions we have been living with for centuries should be united as one, which won’t be possible; rather, giving love and respect to one another leaving the attitude ‘Mine is the best and I’m proud of it’ should be what I would like to mean. I think it’s actually very late to talk about this now, although I can’t help but acknowledge the need to talk about unity on the instant. In some parts of the land, people are living very peacefully with sound economic and political condition, but the fates of some are really unfortunate; people are being traumatised by the tragic political situation and unsound economic problems. And it pains me to see the hatred for one another among the victims in such times too. I think it’s high time that we give love and respect to, and help one another out before our very Well-Educated politicians turn the land upside down for their educational purposes as we have already seen. And, we should start this with our neighbouring clans/communities/tribes within the state, which really seem to be in need of immediate remedies, and then go beyond the state. And I know it’s easy to say such things but hard to make it possible; but if you don’t give it a try, you’ll never know; and if you give it a try, you may be… Naah! will be surprised with the unexpected outcome; you know there’s still good in us.
And, it’s really interesting to see how easily we can be influenced by our very Well-Educated politicians and the governing elites; whether it’s communal or territorial dispute, common people like us who don’t have any problem with one another will be fighting in favour of our respective elites who take decisions and govern the territory; some of us sometimes keep fighting without even knowing what we’re actually fighting for. Thus, it can be seen how we are often used as the perfect weapon by them; they sit at home comfortably and look at us on the television while some of us are happy to be on the television, bloody.
It’s really sad to think about how easily we can be manipulated; and so many other problems we can’t escape from, like AFSPA in some parts of the land, gave me sleepless nights.
After all, who am I to talk about this and tell you things to do? Furthermore, I’m neither a writer nor an intelligent person, I am just a poor soul who would love to see the land prosper with love, respect, peace and unity. I was once told that writing can also make a difference, so I am giving it a try thinking that I must not lose faith in humanity. It would be nice if you can be hit by my proposition at least to some percent. And I would be grateful if you agree with my proposition and fill up the loopholes; or scold me badly and give me better suggestions if you disagree with it.
For the love of The Eyes!
#LovePeaceRespectUnity